Flats!

After I attended the workshop at the Dickinson Farm on seeding, I decided to plant way more seeds in flats this year to see if it made a difference in my harvest (16 flats to be exact).  There have always been a bunch of plants that never do anything for me such as eggplant, broccoli, cauliflower, cantaloupe & watermelon.  I can never get eggplant to grow at all. The others grow but never fruit or possibly fruit with the saddess display of food possible.

Peanuts!!

I have tried a few things this year that I haven’t tried before so I am most excited about these especially.  Peanuts, artichoke, Brussels sprouts, onion sets, garlic and red cabbage to name a few.  My flats are well on their way.  I have been digging up the garden for the last few weeks and will finally get my potatoes, onions & garlic planted tomorrow, plus maybe a few other cold tolerant veggies.

I also ordered a few more trees & vines to replace a few that didn’t make it from last year.  I planted 2 cherry, 1 plum, 1 peach, 1 filbert and 2 grape.  This is in addition to the ones I planted last spring that included 1 blueberry, 4 apple, 1 pear, 1 plum, 2 grape, 2 pecan and hops.  The first time I actually see fruit on any of these I may actually do a back flip.

Leave a Reply

