Successful Guerrilla Gardening

Yup, I finally took the plunge.  I have threatened to start planting vegetables in places other than my own backyard but yesterday I made good on that promise.  Our neighborhood has a clean up twice a year (actually, can you really call it a neighborhood cleanup when only yourself and 3 other people show up?…well, that’s another story).  I get tired of just walking around cleaning up litter because within a few days you see more anyway.  I liked the idea of finding overgrown & neglected tree wells and weed them, mulch them and seed them with an assortment of different vegetable and flower seeds.  There were 3 wells in particular that I have been eyeing up because they are in areas of heavy foot traffic and they no longer have a tree or anything else in them except for weeds.  I figured this would be the perfect spot for a little mini farm.  they are also in line of sight of each other so people will probably be able to tell that this was completely intentional.  I also dropped some other seeds in some of the wells that have trees in them but I chose different seeds for those.  For the empty tree wells I plants the 3 sisters:beans, corn and squash.  If you have never heard of it, the corn gives a pole for the beans to climb up and the squash creates ground cover to keep the weeds out.  I actually went with cantaloupe and watermelon instead of squash.  In the smaller wells I have a baggie of random seeds so truthfully, I’m not really sure what will come up.  Some tomatoes or peppers or lettuce….or something else entirely.

I started by weeding and then using a fork to scratch the dirt up a little.  It was before the heavy rain so it was super dry and not really workable so I made due with the little dirt I could move.  Then I threw the seeds in and put a layer of mulch on top.  I’m not going to water these because I just can’t support more farms than my own but I hope that the mulch will keep them a little hydrated and that they will become strong little plants and be able to adapt to the different types of weather that Carlisle gives them in the summer.

One thought on “Successful Guerrilla Gardening

Leave a Reply

