18 Gallons of Pears

I’m not sure why it took so long.  I have lived here for 3 years now but I just realized that my next door neighbor has a giant pear tree that is dripping with fruit.  I kept eyeing it up by standing on my tippy toes to peer over the fence.  I noticed over the past week that tons of fruit had dropped so it become quite apparent that he was not planning on harvesting this huge waterfall of pears.  I swung by this morning while he was working on his car (he does this often, he owns an old trans am) and asked about the pile of fruit in his lawn.  I am not above collecting damaged fruit that would otherwise rot.  In fact, those were the ones that were actually ripe anyway.  He was more than happy to give this to me so I ran back around the corner, picked up a 20 gallon tub and returned with the kiddos in tow.  They weren’t actually much help (a bunch of divas really) but I gathered a whole bunch of deliciousness.  Donnie was nice enough to carry it back to the house because that shit got heavy.

Now I am trolling through one of my favorite sites for canning, preserving stuff, Punk Domestics. I’m planning on taking some to make cider and then ferment that into hard cider.  For now though, I’m working on making a multitude of recipes.  Thankfully I own 2 crock pots and 2 dehydrators.  Pictures of the final products will be posted later but I’m currently working on spiced salted caramel pear butter, ginger pear chutney, pear chips and pear leather.  His tree is still full of fruit so more foraging is probably in the near future.

2 thoughts on “18 Gallons of Pears

  1. This is all kinds of awesome — and perry (which is what hard pear cider is called in the UK) is one of my favorite things in the whole world. Also, it makes me think it would not be an idiotic thing to plant a fruit tree in the yard. Hmmm.

    • Yes! I planted a bunch of fruit trees but it will be at least another year or 2 until they fruit. Until then, I am going to scavenge fruit from any tree that isn’t being properly harvested:) I’ll let you know if I am successful with the perry. You will be able to sample the final product.

Leave a Reply

