Hurricane Harvest

Sandy is beating against the house and garden right now but I made sure to make one last mad dash to harvest yesterday.  My garden is almost completely cleared out now.  I’m a little bummed, but relieved at the same time, because it means I no longer have to tend to it.  It does mean that I now have to process all of the good stuff I grabbed from it though.  My harvest includes leeks, sweet potatoes, potatoes, kohlrabi, broccoli, brussels sprouts, butter nut squash and a few stray tomatoes and peppers that I missed last time around. I started work on the leeks and took the leaves to steep in water as a vegetable stock base.  I added celery, carrot, tomato, garlic & celery and it smells mighty delicious right now.  Everything has been cleaned but I need to think creatively about where to store it, how to cook it or how to preserve it….or a little bit of each option.

3 thoughts on “Hurricane Harvest

Leave a Reply

