Fruit! Oh sweet delicious fruit!

Three years ago I started my mini backyard orchard with the hopeful anticipation that one summer in the future I would be able to pluck fresh apples, peaches, pears, plums, cherries, and grapes from the trees and vines I had planted.  Each year I watch eagerly to see if the trees flower and if those flowers turn into anything edible.  Last year the plum tree flowered but much to my dismay there were no yummy fruit that came from it.  The peach and plum trees that I have are the largest out of all of my orchard so I felt like this was going to be the year that they would finally produce.  I. was. right. YAY!  Not only that but I also found little apples, cherries, and grapes!  Last year was the first year that we had a huge haul of raspberries, blackberries and strawberries.  I am so giddy at the prospect of harvesting fruit right from the tree in our own backyard this year.  I better start finding more recipes to process all of it.

Leave a Reply

